BRENTWOOD & DISTRICT LAWN TENNIS ASSOCIATION

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on the 23rd January 2019 in the pavilion of the Billericay Lawn Tennis Club.

Present	John Tucker	Chairman	
	Terry Morgan	Hon. League Secretary	
	Diane Morgan	Hon. Secretary	
	Andrea Goodman	Treasurer	
And representatives from the following Clubs			
Basildon	Hampton SSC	Apologies for non-attendance	
Bentley	Mountnessing	Brentwood Lawn	
Billericay	Old Brentwoods	David Lloyd Gidea Park	
Blackmore	Ongar	Raphael Park	
Brentwood H. C.	Stock	South Hanningfield	
Clearview	Thurrock	Stockbrook	
Cranston Park	Writtle		
Grosvenor			
Hutton&Shenfield			
Ingatestone			
Kelvedon Hatch			

The minutes of the previous AGM were approved and duly signed.

No Affiliation fees were needed to enter into league this year.

Treasurers report

No Affiliation fees were needed to enter into league this year.

The funds in the account is in the region of £800.00 it was advised that there will come a time when we need to replace some of the old trophies which are running out of space for engraving winners, the affiliation fees will be announced by the Treasurer to cover such costs to the League.

League Secretary's Report:-

2018 Summary

The league went well again Thanks for the support and participation of clubs involved. There was 46 matches forfeited (1 Ladies Divisions, 28 Mens Divisions and 17 Mixed Divisions).

20 Matches unaccounted for (lost scorecards or failure to arrange matches, please note that both teams MUST send in the scoresheets to terencemorgan@blueyonder.co.uk or

brentwoodleaguefixtures@gmail.com if scoresheets are NOT received by deadline set by League secretary at the end of the season then unfortunately BOTH teams receive zero points.

The matches unaccounted in Divisions Ladies 4, Mens 12 and Mixed 4

There was a discussion with regards to teams playing 3 or 4 matches start of the season then deciding to cease playing further matches, we came to an agreement that if this is the case this season, the following would suffice:- The Club that decides not to take any further part in the season should therefore notify the League Secretary in order to pass on the action to the relevant clubs in that Division and/or the clubs who are in line to play against a club who decides not to participate further in the season ALSO notifies the League Secretary of this finding, this way the League Secretary will be fully aware and will therefore reset the matches played by the withdrawing club back to zero points, by doing this, it will be fair to the remaining clubs in that Division.

Formation of the league 2019

There were 4 new club applications to join the league. Mens Writtle III in Division 5 and Writtle IV in Division 6Brentwood Lawn III in Division 6 Ladies Thurrock II in Division 4 and Mixed Thurrock II in Division 4.

The following team have been withdrawn from the league.

West Hordon	Mens team from Division 3
-------------	---------------------------

The updated version of the league composition was circulated to the match secretaries and is on the website <u>www.stockleaguesec.wix.com/tennis/brentwoodleague</u>

Mr John Tucker Thanked Terry and Diane for their efforts in running the league and to all clubs for their support and good wishes for the forthcoming season.

Election of Officers

The following officers were re-elected to their current posts

John Tucker	Chairman
Terry Morgan	Hon. League Secretary
Andrea Goodman	Hon.Treasurer

Diane Morgan stepped down from her role as Hon. Secretary and it was put forward at the meeting if anyone would like to take over, that role is still available if anyone wishes to come on board, please let Terry Morgan League Secretary know if you wish to do so.-

Presentation of Trophies

The Chairman, John Tucker presented the Trophies for the 2018 season to the winning Clubs.

Brentwood League Winners 2018

Mens Div 1 Billericay I Div 2 Writtle I Div 3 Hutton & Shenfield IV

- Div 4 Blackmore I
- Div 5 Hutton & Shenfield V
- Div 6 Brentwood Lawn II

Ladies Div 1 Brentwood Lawn I Div 2 Cranston Park II Div 3 Raphael Park Div 4 Grosvenor

Mixed Div 1 Billericay I Div 2 Hutton & Shenfield II Div 3 Thurrock I Div 4 David Lloyd Gidea Park

Congratulations to the winners of each division. I hope you all had an enjoyable season and I hope you have a successful season in the summer.

Any Other Business

Return of Cups to the League for engraving. Diane Morgan brought up the subject of returning the cups to the League Secretary to enable engraving to take place in a timely manner for the AGM to present to the Winners of their Divisions.

It was agreed that the £10.00 fine stays for late return after a deadline set by the League Secretary and a failure to return the cup 30 days after the AGM will incur the cost of replacing a new cup.

Date of next AGM

Date of the next AGM & Fixture meeting was proposed for Wednesday 22nd January 2020 commencing at 7.30pm at Billericay Lawn Tennis Club.

On completion of the AGM the Fixtures for 2019 were arranged by the member clubs.